Congratulations to the Helen Bernstein Award for Teacher Leadership Winner

(L) D. Newhouse; (R) D. Newhouse, students from his FIRST Robotics program, and Foshay staff pose with Superintendent  Deasy, Megan Chernin and Supervisor Mark Ridley-Thomas at an LAUSD Press Conference on STEM access in March.
Congratulations to Darryl Newhouse 

WINNER of the 2nd Annual Helen Bernstein Award for Teacher Leadership

presented by the LA Dodgers Foundation

Mr. Newhouse teaches math and robotics for grades 7-12 at Foshay Learning Center located in Expo Park, where he has spent his entire 21-year teaching career.
When he began at Foshay in 1993, LAEP had recently received the New American Schools grant, which in collaboration with UTLA and LAUSD, transformed Foshay into one of first K-12 comprehensive community schools in the nation.
He is recognized for his leadership in project based learning at Foshay, introducing robotics into his classroom for students to connect more meaningfully to math and science. Mr. Newhouse has led STEM camps, grantwriting, and the school’s acclaimed Robotics Team 597, which teaches students engineering design, community service, and valuable skills for STEM careers.
A former Marine, Mr. Newhouse instills passion for learning and discovery in his students, and shows them that regardless of socioeconomic obstacles, they are capable of achieving their highest potential and making significant contributions to the STEM field, their community, and beyond.
Foshay is an exemplary college and career ready school that deeply embeds LAEP’s career activities such as resume writing and mock interviews.
Congratulations Mr. Newhouse, Principal Yvonne Garrison, and the entire Foshay community!
2014 Design Challenge Honorary Committee: Congressman Xavier Becerra; Congressman Tony Cárdenas; Congresswoman Judy Chu; Congresswoman Lucille Roybal-Allard; Congressman Adam Schiff; State Senator Kevin de León; State Senator Holly Mitchell; State Senator Alex Padilla; Assemblymember Jimmy Gómez; Assemblymember Isadore Hall, III: Assemblymember Reggie Jones-Sawyer; Supervisor Gloria Molina; Supervisor Mark Ridley-Thomas; Supervisor Zev Yaroslavsky; Councilmember Curren D. Price, Jr.; LAUSD Superintendent John E. Deasy, LAUSD Board President Richard Vladovic; LAUSD Board Member Steve Zimmer; LAUSD Board Member Mónica García; Jan Perry, Interim General Manager, City of Los Angeles Economic Development Department; Darline P. Robles, USC Professor of Clinical Education; Robert Sainz, Assistant General Manager of Operations, City of Los Angeles